Sunday Funday: 3 Ingredient Cupcakes

img_4728I’m one of those people that likes to use recipes as a guide. If a cake recipe calls for vanilla extract, I’ll use almond. If a salad recipe only calls for salt and pepper, I’ll add chili powder. I swap out oil for applesauce and sugar for non-nutritive sweeteners. That’s me. Semi-original, as I like to call it.

I first came across the basic 2-ingredient pumpkin muffin recipe years ago, when I was dieting for my sister’s wedding. I think I made it once. I remember it being a tad dry and dense. It was also tough to mix, making diet soda cupcakes a much more logical – if less nutrient – dense – option for easy and low calorie cakes.

Side note, I’ve noticed a change in my shopping habits during and after prep. During prep, I had bought a jar of unsweetened applesauce with the intent of using it for baking. It never got opened. Here recently, I walked by a display of pumpkin spice items and saw these Pumpkin Spice Morsels. So I combined those with a box of yellow cake mix in my pantry to create these cupcakes!

I call them cupcakes instead of muffins because unlike the ones I made years ago, these are light and fluffy like cupcakes. The applesauce also gives it a nice added sweetness, so they would still be sweet enough even without the baking chips on top. I think they’d also be wonderful with some chopped nuts or maybe a nice homemade crumb topping!

 

3 Ingredient Cupcakes

Makes 12img_4729

Ingredients:

  • 1 box yellow cake mix (or any flavor)
  • 15oz (by weight) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Spice Morsels (optional, or use another topper of choice)

Preheat oven to 350º

Combine applesauce and cake mix. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners, or  spray with cooking spray. Divide batter evenly. Sprinkle with pumpkin spice morsels.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before devouring.

~~~~~~~

Now…what do I do with the rest of the applesauce?

Leave a Reply

